Coronavirus: Important Operational Message

Author: The Clerking Team
In: News Published: Thursday 19 March 2020

Share

Coronavirus - Business Continuity 

02072426476 or clerks@33bedfordrow.co.uk

23.3.20 

We are following government and Bar Council guidelines in order to remain open for business. We are continuing to work during our usual hours of 8.30am-6.30pm.

You can also call us outside office hours for urgent enquiries by calling our usual switchboard number, 020 7242 6476, where you will hear a message with the relevant mobile numbers to call.

In response to the latest government advice, all of our staff are now working from home and our office building will now be closed until further notice

We would therefore be grateful if you could make all payments to us by BACS using the bank details on the fee notes you have been sent. Please do not send cheques to our office in the post. If you have any queries please email fees@33bedfordrow.co.uk.

Regrettably, we will no-longer be able to accept deliveries at our office building until further notice. Please send case documents electronically to clerks@33bedfordrow.co.uk. If you need to have hard copy papers delivered to us, please contact the relevant clerk beforehand (by email or phone) to make the necessary arrangements for documents to be sent to an appropriate address.

Calls to direct numbers for our members of staff will be diverted to their mobile numbers. Please refer to the Clerks and Staff phone numbers below for their direct numbers.

If you are unsure about who you need to contact or you wish to speak to a barrister, please call our switchboard number on 020 7242 6476 and our clerks will endeavour to take your call.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused and we will of course update you if this situation changes.

All reasonable care is being taken to anticipate the challenges that will inevitably arise over the coming weeks. We appreciate this is a difficult time for many of our clients. We can assure you that we are taking every possible measure to provide the most effective service we can in these unprecedented times.

 

19.3.20 - Due to the Coronavirus situation, 33 Bedford Row Chambers:

(1) will not be accepting documents submitted by post/dx until further notice. All correspondence needs to be sent electronically; and

(2) where possible, can payments be made by BACs direct into the chambers account. Card payments will not be accepted. Please telephone 33 Bedford Row on 0207 242 6476 to check chambers account details. 

18.3.20 - Despite the current situation in relation to COVID-19, as the courts are still open 33 Bedford Row Chambers will continue to operate as close to normal as is appropriate.

Members of Chambers will be working remotely where possible and will continue to be fully contactable via our switchboard, 020 7242 6476 and by email.

Conferences may be held via telephone or Skype and we can arrange access to video conferencing as necessary. If there is a need to rearrange conferences presently due to take place in chambers so that they can take place in this way please contact us.

Using the above technology we are able to conduct a substantial amount of advice and representation.

If you have any questions in relation to our planning, or related to your own response planning, please get in touch with your usual 33 Bedford Row contact or via clerks@33bedfordrow.co.uk 

Mobile and Email Addresses

Emergency mobile telephone numbers for clerks are set out below.

The mobile phone numbers of our most senior clerks are:

Senior Clerk 

Gary Reed: 07530 656607       g.reed@33bedfordrow.co.uk

Civil, Commercial & Arbitration

Mark Byrne: 07931 231 321 m.byrne@33bedfordrow.co.uk

Charleigh Thurston: 07506 340 306     c.thurston@33bedfordrow.co.uk       

Crime & Regulatory

Jamie Smurthwaite: 07530 657 073     j.smurthwaite@33bedfordrow.co.uk

Bill Ince: 07508 119 428    b.ince@33bedfordrow.co.uk   

Family (inc: Children, Care & Finance) 

Mark Venables: 07792 701 136     m.venables@33bedfordrow.co.uk    

Charlotte Cracknell: 07958 162 221   c.cracknell@33bedfordrow.co.uk      

Accounts/Finance            

Rob Andrews: 07399 985 572     r.andrews@33bedfordrow.co.uk    

Our team is are available for round-the-clock to provide round-the-clock urgent legal advice to businesses, lay clients and solicitors during this stressful time.
 
By putting in place these contingency measures we intend to continue offering as normal a service as possible throughout the duration of this unprecedented epidemic; and by working together we are confident we can find solutions to any problems arising, thereby reducing as far as possible any impact on our professional and lay clients and minimising risks to health.